Samsung’s New Flagship, Won’t Be Sailing into My Home

Citizens! I posted earlier in the week on my Instagram (@themaskedaudiophile) that I was working on a review for the new Samsung UN78KS9800. Well, the time has come to do said review. If you don’t know about this television yet, sit back and enjoy learning about it.

This year Samsung decided to try to knock out this masked home theater crusader, but alas I still believe they have some work to do especially in the price category. At first glance this television is a beauty. It’s big, it’s bright, and it’s vivid! It has all the things you want in a television for you home theater. It’s 78 inch curved screen is pretty amazing if you ask me. Now with that being said, the television is also a full array panel. Thus, making this television a top contender for best television on the market. A full array panel allows the colors and black levels to be on par with the OLEDs and old plasma televisions. A full array panel is LED backlighting that covers the entire panel on the television. It allows for a ton more control on the local dimming, contrast, and color. Samsung along with Sony, both have full array panels this year, not to be confused with Vizio whom has a few backlit televisions that aren’t full array. The colors pop on this television without a doubt and the blacks are super detailed. We can all thank the full array panel for that.

IMG_2112
Horrible timing for this picture, but look at how big this television is! 

Being that the television is in the 9000 series of Samsung we do have the 10-bit panel and the super motion 240. The 10-bit panel will allow roughly 64 million shades of color that a traditional 8-bit panel. The super motion 240 on the other hand is really neat. It bridges the traditional black frame, between your a-frame and b-frame, with essentially a a.5-frame. It makes motion simulation really smooth. This television has no issue handling fast movements like sports (watched soccer) and action (watched star wars the force awakens) I went from regular antenna television all the way to watching 4k HDR discs on the Samsung 4K player. All in all, the television preformed extremely well and it looked absolutely spectacular. The only way I didn’t test it was for gaming.

IMG_2113

The good! This television is absolutely stunning. If you’re looking for a television that will feel like a movie theater this is it. The color is off the charts on the television.

The bad! When it comes to the motion and the black levels on this television I found it to be lacking. The black levels are not as good as the OLED or the Sony 940D in my opinion. The motion is also not as smooth as the Sony 940D which I put through the same paces as the 9800. I do however believe the 65 inch version of the 9800 does have better motion than the 78 inch version.

The ugly (Oh and I mean UGLY)! The price point on this television is not justifiable. The 78 inch version is a cool $9,999.98 and the 65 inch version is a less but still modest amount of $4599.98. Now normally I would say hey great televisions at a great price and the 65 inch I would agree more since the OLED in 65 inch is about $6,000, but when Sony has a 75 inch full array panel that currently is on sale for $5,999.99 I cannot in good faith recommend the Samsung. I don’t see how the price is justified in this television, maybe we will see a price drop like we did with previous and other models in the line-up, but I don’t foresee it happening soon.

All-in-all I will give this television 3 masks out of 5. Due to the price point and the lack black levels not being on par with its tiered competitors in other brands. My opinion save $4,000 and purchase the XBR75X940D from Sony, it’s 3 inches smaller but it has amazing black levels and color!

Citizens! This week we talked about televisions and I hope you enjoyed it just as much as I enjoyed watching everything on such a big screen! So normally I would say what I listening to this week, but since this is a television review, here’s what I’m watching this week.
In theaters – Finding Dory (It’s incredible, potentially better than the original…)
On Blu-Ray – Zootopia
On Netflix – Janis: Little Girl Blue
On Television – Game of Thrones (I finally started watching it)

Look forward to some more posts on the Instagram account and a post either this weekend or next week on the Amazon Echo. Alexa is to me is like Tony Stark’s Jarvis, but much less sophisticated. They should make a Jarvis mode, maybe a special edition Iron Man Echo when Iron Man 4 comes out. I really should send that idea to someone.

 

Well, until next time citizens, be safe out there when sitting and enjoying your home theater.

Leave a Reply

